Minutes of the ICTV Plenary Session

12:00 Tuesday 12 August 2008

Hall 3 (Topkapi A), the Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Center, Istanbul, Turkey

Chair: L. A. Ball (President of ICTV)

Attendance: 39 people.

1. Subcommittee Reports

Brief reports were presented from each of the six subcommittees summarising progress during 2005-2008 and some issues that were currently being discussed:

- a) Plant Viruses presented by Joe Vetten
- b) Invertebrate Viruses presented by Peter Christian
- c) Virus Data Subcommittee presented by Elliot Lefkowitz
- d) Vertebrate Viruses presented by Andrew Davison on behalf of Duncan McGeoch
- e) Prokaryote Viruses presented by Ian Mollineux; the subcommittee is also responsible for viruses of Archaea
- f) Fungus Viruses presented by Jim Van Etten; the subcommittee is also responsible for viruses of algae and protists

2. Subcommittee Chairs

In accordance with the ICTV statutes, the Executive Committee had elected the chairs of the six Subcommittees to serve for the period 2008-2011. These were as follows:

Andrew Davison, UK (Vertebrate Virus SC) (1st term)

Jim Van Etten, USA (Fungal Virus SC) (2nd term)

Peter Krell, Canada (Invertebrate Virus SC) (1st term)

Rob Lavigne, Belgium (Prokaryote Virus SC) (1st term)

Elliot Lefkowitz, USA (Virus Database SC) (1st full term); Elliot had taken over from

Lois Blane mid-term

Mike Adams, UK (Plant Virus SC) (2nd term)

3. Election of Officers

The Executive Committee had nominated the following to serve as officers for the period 2008-2011. No other nominations had been received:

President:- Eric B. Carstens (1st term)

Vice president:- John MacKenzie (1st term)

Proposals Secretary:- Andrew M. Q. King (6-year term)

All three were elected unanimously by the meeting.

4. Election of 8 elected members

11 nominations had been received for the 8 positions of elected members on the Executive Committee (EC). In order to maintain a balance of expertise on different groups of viruses within the Committee, the EC submitted the following for election unopposed:

Alexander Gorbalenya (2nd term)

Curtis Suttle (2nd term)

K. Nagazaki (1st term)

D. Prangishvili (1st term)

H. Sanfaçon (1st term)

For the remaining three positions, votes were taken as follow:

P. Simmonds or S. Siddell: S. Siddell was elected (1st term)

H. S. Savithri or J. Mattijnessens: H. S. Savithri was elected (1st term)

N. Knowles or P. Walker: N. Knowles was elected (1st term)

5. Modification of ICTV Statutes

Article 10.3 of the ICTV Statutes currently states that:

"No publication of the ICTV shall bear any indication of sponsorship by a commercial agency, or institution connected in any way with a commercial company, except as an acceptable acknowledgement of financial assistance."

The ICTV Executive Committee proposes that this be changed to:

"No publication of the ICTV shall bear any indication of sponsorship by a commercial agency, or institution connected in any way with a commercial company, except as an acceptable acknowledgement of financial assistance, <u>unless approved by the EC on a case-by-case basis</u>."

This change has already been accepted by the Executive Committee of IUMS Virology Division, contingent on subsequent approval by the full ICTV membership.

The modification was accepted unanimously by the meeting.

6. Election of new ICTV Life Members

In view of their long service to virus taxonomy, including terms as secretaries of ICTV, Mike Mayo and Claude Fauquet were nominated from the chair as Life Members of ICTV. This was accepted unanimously by the meeting.